About Chairperson, Protection of Plant Varieties and Farmers’ Rights Authority, Government of India, New Delhi.

The current Chairperson of the PPV&FRA, Government of India, holds the rank of Secretary to the Government is one of India’s foremost agriculture scientist. He had his early education at the Agriculture College, Coimbatore, the Indian Agriculture Research Institute, New Delhi and received his Ph.D from the Delhi University. He joined the IARI / ICAR in 1974 as wheat pathologist and continued his research interest on the epidemiology of the cereal rusts. These bunch of fungal disease pose a serious threat to wheat crop in different parts of India. On the basis of a series of epidemiological investigations he propounded the stem rust rules and using climatic data explained the nature and recurrence of Puccinia graminis tritici and P.recondita tritici. These rules suggest that the urediospores originating from the Nilgiris spread to Central India under the influence of tropical cyclone that occurs in the Bay of Bengal during November. Based on this a disease management strategy was formulated and implemented to contain crop losses. On a similar basis he and his team explained the nature and recurrence of the leaf rust (P. recondita tritici) and the stripe rust (P.striiformis) over the Indo gangetic plain. He proposed "Gene Deployment" as a strategy and developed gene matching technique to postulate the resistance genes in the variety before its official release. The execution of the strategy he did, as Project Director of the All India Wheat program was so perfect that for the last nearly 12 years there has been no serious crop loss due to rust epidemics. Thus India saves each year nearly 6 to 7 million tons of wheat grain, that can be used for protein synthesis, that was other wise lost due to the outbreak of wheat rust diseases in different parts of the country.
As ADG (PP) ICAR and as Acting DDG (CS) he was involved with several of the AICIPs and variety identification process for number of crops. As Member of the Central Pesticide Registration Committee, Central Variety Identification Committee, Chairman MEC, Co Chair RCGM, GEAC facilitated Cotton transgenic evaluation, approval and in various policy decisions. As Chairman of several special committees constituted by the various Government departments and he submitted several reports on the task assigned. He was a member of Board of management of TNAU and RajAU, NDRI and IVRI. Served as member of the GB and SFC of the ICAR.

During his period as Director of the wheat program, he developed new tillage options as zero tillage, organic kitchari recipes, and the raised bed system of planting and popularized them. Also he initiated wheat molecular biology program at national level for marker-aided selection for rust resistance and for grain quality improvement. Along with his colleagues he identified two new leaf rust resistance genes as Lr48 and Lr49. The trade has acknowledged the grain classification and grading system recommended by him. He has been the torchbearer of India’s wheat program. He and his colleagues developed a wheat variety DBW 14 for the eastern gangetic plain and was released by the CVRC. As Project Director Wheat, the largest network project, his team produced maximum amount of breeder and nucleus seed, established wheat germplasm bank and produced wheat germplasm catalogue. Number of genetic stocks were developed and deposited with NBPGR and Dr. S. Nagarajan along with his co-workers hold a US patent for a chemical male gametocyte which when sprayed at low concentration renders sterility of the wheat anther. This opens an opportunity for wheat hybrid.

As Director of IARI in less than four years he made structural improvement in the research and teaching agenda of IARI by re-writing the PG School Curriculum, vision document, reframing the research projects and IARI filed 11 patents in one year, established the Business Development Cell, institute Industry interphase meetings and transferred products like Hybrid rice, Bt Brinjal etc to enterprise on an agreement. To link the institute with private and commercialize its products organized biannual interphase meeting. Established referral facility for SPS and Codex related issues and modernized the research and teaching activities of IARI. During the centenary year of the Institute started new “Rural development activities with the motto “Progress through Agriculture”. He is the Chairman of the Indo-French Joint Working Group and is a member of several committees of the Department of Biotechnology, Department of Environment and Forestry and Ministry of Agriculture.

He was a member of the Centre Commissioned External Review (CCER) of CIMMYT, Mexico. He was recognized for his significant contributions with the Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Award of the ICAR (1978-79), Conferred “Award of Distinction” at the International Plant Protection Congress, The Hague (1995), The Best Institute Award for DWR by ICAR (1998), M.O.P. Iyengar Lecture Award of the University of Madras (2000), Om Prakash Bashin Award (2001), Chaudhri Ram Dhan Singh Award for contribution to wheat improvement (2002) by HAU, Hisar, Dr. K.S. Bilgrami Award of INSA (2004), Dr. Norman Borlaug Award of the Coromandel Fertilizers (2005), Dr. A. S. Cheema Award of the Young Farmer’s Association of Punjab (2005), received from the Prime Minister of India the “Dr. B P Pal Gold Medal” in the 93rd Indian Science Congress for contribution to Science and Technology – wheat pathology and wheat improvement (2006) and is a recipient of the Silver Jubilee Medal of INSA for contribution to Agriculture and Allied Sciences (2006).

He is Fellow of the National Academy of Agricultural Sciences (1992), Fellow National Academy of Sciences, Allahabad (2002), Fellow of the Indian National Science Academy (2005) and Fellow, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (1978) Germany. He presided over the convocation of the Punjab Agricultural University (2005), and delivered the convocation address of TNVASU(2006).

He has visited more than 25 countries during his scientific career. He is author of more than 120 research papers, 50 book chapters and two textbooks. The younger scientists in the country consider him as a role model by virtue of his inspiring leadership.

DUS Centres
National Guidelines for the Conduct of Tests for Distinctness, Uniformity and Stability
Crop List
DUS test guidelines finalized for 12 notified crop species: Black gram, Bread wheat, Chickpea, Field pea, Green gram, Kidney bean, Lentil, Maize, Pearl millet, Pigeon pea, Rice, Sorghum
 Crop Guidelines
. Cotton (tertaploid)
. Cotton (Diploid)
. Jute